Don’t Give Up

I am very happy to say that after 3 weeks of working from 11:30PM – 8:00AM Bill is finally back on days. That’s just for two days and then he’s on night shift (3PM-1AM). It has been very difficult with Bill the graveyard shift because he’s sleeping all day.

We don’t have an extra bedroom since we put in the studio. Which means that when I want to lie down, I have to go into the bedroom and try not to wake him. It’s really difficult to sleep on graveyards so I have been avoiding doing that for fear of waking him up. Three days ago I decided that sleeping on the couch wasn’t any good and went into the bedroom for my naps. It makes a big difference in getting proper rest.

I had a pretty difficult day on the 9th. I ended up probably taking more dilaudid then then when I first had my surgery. That was a total of 4mg four times.

Yesterday wasn’t too bad. i still had to take one 2mg dilaudid in the afternoon but that’s not bad in comparison to the day before. I am finding it very difficult to sort out what to do as far as moving and sitting is concerned.

I was able to do my walk and exercises and was more comfortable than I had been.

I tried to get my photos of the desktop because I can’t sit there long enough to get anything done. But I’m afraid that between all the ups and downs at the computer it is still going to be too much.

I didn’t do much in the way of cooking. Thelma made a few dinners for us and I reheated one of those. A very nice recipe of Green Thai Chicken Coconut Curry.  I was uncomfortable enough not to want to stand long enough to really cook.

The rest of the evening I stretched out on the sofa. I can change positions from my side to back and then getting up occasionally makes it okay.

You know, I hate writing these crappy posts. I want to say how well I’m doing and recovering nicely. But it’s not true. The purpose of this blog is to help people that might undergo a laminectomy themselves. They need to see that it is up and down, down, down. Then up again. But you can’t quit or give up. Eventually up is where you end up but if you quite, you’ll stay down.

I saw a bumper sticker yesterday. All is said was “die trying”. I like that. Don’t ever give up.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a comment