Doing the Breaststroke Prep & Swan Dive on the Reformer

I’ve been modifying my Reformer workout drastically so that I will know what has the potential to hurt my back during my recovery.

Basically I can’t do anything for 8 weeks. Then I have to be really careful. So I have the chance now to modify the workout because if I do something that hurts my back later, I’ll know that’s a no go.

I took the Injury and Special Populations from Stott Pilates which has helped a lot. I also have the rehab DVDs which is a total help after doing the course.

When I’m done, I’ll post the workout here and explain what I modified and why.

2 Responses to “Doing the Breaststroke Prep & Swan Dive on the Reformer”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Hey Darlene, I’d love to take a look at what you’re going to be doing. I’m a physical therapist. I do a lot of very low level pilates with patients that are post operative. I usually don’t see them until there 8 weeks is up. I would love to have them in my clinic very soon after surgery just to discuss transverse abdominus recuritment. That alone is powerful for somebody with back injury/surgery and is very difficulty for patients that lack body awareness. It’s always good if we get the chance to teach patients about their core before surgery, but it doesn’t always happen.

  2. Darlene Says:

    Hi Leslie

    I’d be happy to share my experiences with you. Do you use a reformer? That’s where I am focusing now. My surgery is set for the 22nd.

    And I’m sure you know that telling your patients to pull their belly buttons in towards their spine gently and then engaging the pelvic floor from the front in a Kegel like movement is very useful.
    My sister is totally not body aware and she gets that. The trick, of course, is in doing this at a level of about 20% of their “all out”. And then getting them to do that whenever they think about it.
    Basically start by giving them a goal – whenever they sit in the car, whenever the commercials come on the TV…

    I saw a physician that specialized in patients with back injuries arthritis and in getting them back to work comfortably as soon as possible.
    He had me lying flat on the floor, starting with knees bent and then straightening on leg out in front of you.
    Pulling in the belly button hard – your 100%- and then lifting the leg off the floor but only 2 inches. It’s easier if you hold the leg up higher so 2″ it is
    Then hold that for a few seconds or breathes. He had me do 10 sets of that 2 weeks after my surgery, 3 times a day.

    Take care
    Darlene Morrow


Leave a Reply

